ASC LogoASC Spanning the South and Southwest
The American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media OutletsWWW Sites
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer


News and Notes

Jul 23 -- Mary Hardin-Baylor Clear Favorite for ASC Football Crown
Mary Hardin-Baylor has been predicted to win its third straight American Southwest Conference football title by a vote of the league’s nine head coaches and sports information directors as well as selected media members, the ASC office announced on Monday. UMHB, which reached the quarterfinals of the NCAA Division III playoffs last season, collected 24 of the possible 27 first-place votes. Hardin-Simmons University was picked to finish second.

Jul 23 -- Sul Ross State’s Barber, UMHB’s Freeman, TLU’s Storrie Claim ASC Preseason Football Honors
Sul Ross State running back T.J. Barber, Mary Hardin-Baylor linebacker Jerrell Freeman and Texas Lutheran kicker Holt Storrie ­ all seniors ­ have been selected for 2007 American Southwest Conference preseason football individual awards, the ASC office announced on Monday.

Jul 17 -- HSU Women’s Basketball Named Top D-III Team in Academics
The Hardin-Simmons University women’s basketball team was named the top Division III team in the nation in the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association’s Academic Top 25 on Monday. The Cowgirls had a team grade point average of 3.664. Only one other team in the nation at any level, Division I’s South Dakota State (3.693), had a higher GPA.

Jul 16 -- Former Mary Hardin-Baylor Football Star Kubiak Helps Team USA to Gold Medal
Former University of Mary Hardin-Baylor football player and 2006-07 American Southwest Conference Male Athlete of the Year Josh Kubiak led Team USA in tackles and helped it to the gold medal with a 23-20 overtime victory over Japan in the World Championship of American Football in Kawasaki, Japan. He finished the three-game tournament with eight tackles, two interceptions and a blocked punt that was fallen on for a touchdown as USA went 3-0.

Jun 19 -- ASC Scholar-Athlete Award Winners Announced
Twenty-five graduating student-athletes from 13 American Southwest Conference member institutions have been named as recipients of the 2006-07 ASC Scholar-Athlete Award on their respective campuses, the league office announced on Tuesday. The annual award is presented to one male and one female member of the graduating class who has compiled the most outstanding record in academics, athletics and leadership over their collegiate career. The award is presented annually by the Faculty Athletics Representative at each conference member institution.

Jun 14 -- Mary Hardin-Baylor’s Kubiak, Howard Payne’s Daniels Named ASC Athletes of the Year
Mary Hardin-Baylor senior football player Josh Kubiak and Howard Payne junior basketball player Meia Daniels, two student-athletes that led their respective teams to American Southwest Conference championships and deep runs in NCAA Division III national tournaments, have been selected as the 2006-07 ASC Athletes of the Year, the league office announced on Thursday after a vote of ASC sports information directors and selected media members. The award recognizes the male and female student-athlete whose athletic accomplishments best contributed to their sport, their institution’s overall athletic program and to the conference for the 2006-07 year.

Jun 13 -- LeTourneau’s Potter, Concordia-Austin’s Heckmann Named ASC Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award Winners
Student-athletes Ryan Potter of LeTourneau and Michelle Heckmann of Concordia-Austin have been named winners of the 2006-07 American Southwest Conference Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award, the ASC office announced on Wednesday after a vote of the league’s Directors of Athletics. The ASC Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award honors a male and female student-athlete who best displays the attributes of sportsmanship, leadership, citizenship and academic integrity in their athletic, academic and life pursuits.

Jun 11 -- Hardin-Simmons Volleyball Player Aguilar Selected As ASC's NCAA Woman of Year Candidate
Hardin-Simmons University volleyball player Virginia Aguilar, a two-time American Southwest Conference West Division Player of the Year and academic All-American, will be the ASC’s nominee on the 2007 NCAA Woman of the Year ballot, the league office announced on Tuesday after a vote of the conference’s Directors of Athletics and Faculty Athletics Representatives. The award honors senior student-athletes for their cumulative collegiate achievements in service, leadership, athletics and academics.

Dr. Bob Riley

May 31 -- ASC Council of Presidents Announces 2007-08 Officers
The American Southwest Conference Council of Presidents announced members of the 2007-08 Executive Council at the group's annual meeting in Dallas, Texas, on May 24. Dr. R. Vic Morgan, president of Sul Ross State University, will serve as president, Dr. Tom Cedel, president of Concordia University at Austin, as vice-president; and Dr. Bob Riley, president of East Texas Baptist University, as past president. The newly-announced conference officers begin their one-year terms on June 1.
The Full Story

May 30 -- Howard Payne Tops Nation in Women’s Basketball Attendance; ASC Draws Most Fans in Division III
The attendance at NCAA basketball games hit a record number during the 2006-07 season and American Southwest Conference program Howard Payne University was the top women’s draw in Division III with an average of 1,490 fans over 17 regular season home games, the NCAA announced. The ASC also had a combined attendance of 180,420 for men’s and women’s games ­ better than any other league in Division III.

May 15 -- ASC Spring 2007 All-Academic Honors Announced
More than 300 student-athletes from 15 universities and colleges are among the individuals recognized by the American Southwest Conference on its Spring 2007 All-Academic honor roll, the league office announced on Tuesday (May 15). The sports included are baseball, softball, tennis and track and field. A total of 33 student athletic trainers and student sports information directors were also honored.

NCAA Sports



Don't Bet on It

ASC Tie-Breaker Procedure: All Sports (updated February, 2006)

2006-07 All-Academic Teams
Fall     Winter     

2005-06 Athletes of the Year

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.