ASC logoThe American Southwest Conference
HomeChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media OutletsWWW Sites
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

Conference History
Area HomeStaffMission and GoalsAlignment

All-Time Championships (PDF)

The American Southwest Conference was formed May 23, 1996 and became a voting member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III August 1, 1998. The ASC is one of the largest intercollegiate athletic conferences in NCAA Division III with 15 member institutions for the 2006-07 academic year.

Founded to provide a structure for intercollegiate athletics among the member institutions, the ASC includes former members of the Texas Intercollegiate Athletic Association (TIAA) and other institutions outside the Texas borders. From the eight founding institutions to today's present group of 15 college and universities, the ASC encompasses institutions sharing similar educational and athletic philosophies. Spreading across four states -- Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi -- the ASC offers student-athletes competition in 16 sports with opportunity for advancement in both conference and NCAA Division III championships.

The roster of American Southwest Conference members in 2006-07 includes Concordia University at Austin, East Texas Baptist University, Hardin-Simmons University, Howard Payne University, LeTourneau University, Louisiana College, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, McMurry University, Mississippi College, University of the Ozarks, Schreiner University, Sul Ross State University, University of Texas at Dallas, University of Texas at Tyler, and Texas Lutheran University.

ASC championships are conducted in 16 sports (8 men, 8 women). Men's championships are offered in baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, soccer, tennis and track and field. Women's championships are offered in basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, track and field and volleyball.

The American Southwest Conference is headquartered in Richardson, Texas. Amy Carlton serves as Interim Commissioner replacing Fred Jacoby, the first Commissioner of the ASC who retired June 30, 2006.

Membership Timeline

1996 Founding Members:
  Austin College
  University of Dallas
  Hardin-Simmons University
  Howard Payne University
  McMurry University
  Mississippi College
  University of the Ozarks
  Sul Ross State University
1997 University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
1998 East Texas Baptist University
  LeTourneau University
  Schreiner College (now, University)
  University of Texas at Dallas
1999 Concordia University at Austin
2000 Louisiana College
  Texas Lutheran University
2001 Withdrew: University of Dallas
2003 University of Texas at Tyler
2006 Withdrew: Austin College

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.