ASC logoThe American Southwest Conference
HomeChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media OutletsWWW Sites
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

StaffHistoryMission and GoalsAlignment

American Southwest Conference
E-mail: Media Relations Office

Carlton Named American Southwest Conference Commissioner

The American Southwest Conference, one of the largest intercollegiate athletic conferences in NCAA Division III, will celebrate its 10th championship season of competition with the 2005-06 academic year.

Founded in May 1996 to provide a structure for intercollegiate athletics among the member institutions, the American Southwest Conference includes former members of the Texas Intercollegiate Athletic Association (TIAA) and other institutions outside the Texas border. From the eight founding institutions to today's present group of 16 college and universities, the ASC encompasses institutions sharing similar educational and athletic philosophies. Spreading across four states -- Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi -- the ASC offers student-athletes competition in 16 sports with opportunity for advancement in both conference and NCAA Division III championships.

The American Southwest Conference has a multidimensional mission to create an environment characterized by opportunities to learn as well as provide friendly competition and activities for the conference membership. members believe team and individual sports provide learning opportunities, and its membership strives to create an athletics environment supportive of teaching and learning. Conference and NCAA resources also provide student-athletes, coaches and administrators access to academic, leadership, sportsmanship and career enhancement opportunities.

Traditional standards of ethical conduct and fair play are respected among the ASC members. To guarantee the integrity of the association, the membership adheres to the policies of the Conference and the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA).

The roster of American Southwest Conference members in 2005-06 includes Austin College, Concordia University at Austin, East Texas Baptist University, Hardin-Simmons University, Howard Payne University, LeTourneau University, Louisiana College, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, McMurry University, Mississippi College, University of the Ozarks, Schreiner University, Sul Ross State University, University of Texas at Dallas, University of Texas at Tyler, and Texas Lutheran University.

ASC championships are conducted in 16 sports (8 men, 8 women). Men’s championships are offered in baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, soccer, tennis and track and field. Women’s championships are offered in basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, track and field and volleyball.

The American Southwest Conference is headquartered in Richardson, Texas. Fred Jacoby, who has served as an intercollegiate conference administrator at all three NCAA Divisions, is in his 10th year as commissioner of the ASC.

Carlton Named American Southwest Conference Commissioner
Amy Carlton has been named Commissioner of the American Southwest Conference after serving in an interim commissioner role since July 1, 2006, the ASC Council of Presidents announced on Thursday. Carlton becomes the second full-time commissioner of the ASC following Fred Jacoby, who retired in June 2006 after guiding the ASC for 10 years. She also becomes one of 12 women who serve as commissioner of an NCAA Division III conference, guiding the largest conference among the 12.
The Full Story

May 31 -- ASC Council of Presidents Announces 2007-08 Officers
Dr. Bob RileyThe American Southwest Conference Council of Presidents announced members of the 2007-08 Executive Council at the group's annual meeting in Dallas, Texas, on May 24. Dr. R. Vic Morgan, president of Sul Ross State University, will serve as president, Dr. Tom Cedel, president of Concordia University at Austin, as vice-president; and Dr. Bob Riley, president of East Texas Baptist University, as past president. The newly-announced conference officers begin their one-year terms on June 1.
The Full Story

ASC Tie-Breaker Procedure: All Sports

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.