ASC logoFootball
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer


AwardsStandingsSchedulesStatsNational PollPress ReleasesRecord BookTake a Kid to the Game

Feb 13 -- ASC Ranked No. 2 in Nation for Football Attendance in 2006
The attendance at NCAA football games hit a record number during the 2006 season and the American Southwest Conference ranked second nationally among Division III leagues, according to NCAA Associate Director of Statistics Gary K. Johnson. The ASC’s nine-team league averaged 2,742 fans per game.
The Full Story

Dec 23 -- ASC Represented on National, Regional Awards Lists for Fall Sports
Student-athletes from fall sports in the ASC are among those honored by coaches’ associations and media with selection to national and regional honor teams. 10 were cited for All-America citations, while 50 took in all-region awards. Mary Hardin-Baylor's Jerrell Freeman (football), and Hardin-Simmon's Virginia Aguilar (volleyball), David Salas (men's soccer) and Christy Carr (women's soccer) highlighted the honorees.
The Full Story

Dec 20 -- Robbins, Glover, Knox Help USA to Aztec Bowl Win over Mexico, 28-7
Texas Lutheran defensive back Jake Robbins made an interception, East Texas Baptist defensive end Chad Glover recorded four tackles and Hardin-Simmons center Josh Knox helped pave the way for 344 yards of total offensive to lead the United States to a 28-7 victory over Mexico in the 2006 Aztec Bowl recently in Aguascalientes, Mexico.
The Full Story

Dec 3 -- Mary Hardin-Baylor Bows to Wesley in Quarterfinals of Football Playoffs, 34-20
Mary Hardin-Baylor's run in the NCAA Division III Football Championship came to an end on Saturday as the Crusaders fell to Wesley 34-20 in a quarterfinal game in Dover, Delaware. The American Southwest Conference champions ended their season with a 10-3 mark.
The Full Story

Nov 29 -- ASC Football Report -- Playoff Edition
The complete preview of upcoming ASC football action is in this weekly report. It includes a complete breakdown of Mary Hardin-Baylor's quarterfinal game against Wesley College. Get conference news and notes along with other tidbits of interest. It's in PDF.
The Full Story

Nov 16 -- ASC All-Conference Football Teams, Award Winners Announced
The 2006 American Southwest Conference All-Conference Football Teams and award winners were announced on Thursday, with league champion Mary Hardin-Baylor and runner-up Hardin-Simmons leading the way with a combined 35 selections. Each playoff team also had three award winners. UMHB had the top defender (Josh Kubiak, FS) and defensive lineman (Terrance Carroll, DT) as well as the co-Coach of the Year (Pete Fredenburg). HSU had the top offensive player (Jordan Neal, QB), offensive lineman (Josh Knox, C) and special teams player (Will Galusha, PR/KR). Also taking co-Coach of the Year honors was Sul Ross State's Steve Wright. Louisiana College QB Ben McLaughlin was tabbed ASC Freshman of the Year.
The Full Story

Nov 4 -- Mary Hardin-Baylor Edges ETBU, Clinches ASC Football Championship
Mary Hardin-BaylorMary Hardin-Baylor answered East Texas Baptist’s upset bid with a TD in the game's final minute on Saturday to clinch the outright American Southwest Conference football championship, winning 33-28. The nationally-ranked Crusaders (7-2, 7-0 ASC) also claimed the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Division III National Championship.
The Full Story

Mary Hardin-Baylor Picked to Repeat ASC Title Run
Defending ASC football champion Mary Hardin-Baylor has been picked to repeat its title run in preseason polling of league head coaches, sports information directors and media. UMHB collected 18 of the 25 possible first-place votes and totaled 216 points to lead the list of nine ASC football teams (July 24).
The Full Story

Senior Trio Selected for Football Preseason Player of Year Honors
Jordan NealThree all-conference seniors have been selected for 2006 American Southwest Conference preseason football player honors in voting by the conference head coaches, sports information directors and media. Hardin-Simmons QB Jordan Neal earned ASC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year honors while teammate KR Will Galusha claimed Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year accolades. ETBU defensive lineman Chad Glover was selected ASC Preseason Defensive Player of the Year (July 24).
The Full Story

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.