ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

McMurry Men's and Women's Teams Easily Win 2002 ASC Track Championships
April 20, 2002

Complete Event Results

Individual Scoring Summary

Awards Summary (PDF format)

Abilene, TX -- After it was all said and done, the McMurry University track program showed why they were one of the best in the country. Both the men's and women's teams dominated the 2002 ASC Track Championships, with the Indian men scoring 310 points, and the women, 315.

Sul-Ross finished in second place in the men's division, and Texas Lutheran was runner-up in the women's division.

The following are the team scores:

Men's Scores

1 McMurry University 310.5
2 Sul Ross University 80
3 Howard Payne University 79
3 Mississippi College 79
5 Austin College 62.5

Women's Scores

1 McMurry University 315
2 Texas Lutheran Univ. 87
3 Mississippi College 83
4 Austin College 51
5 Sul Ross University 33
6 Howard Payne University 25

Women Individual Awards
High Points:
Sheila Hynum - Mississippi College - 49 points
Outstanding Field Events: Darcell Edwards - McMurry University
Outstanding Athlete: Sheila Hynum - MC / Talitha Belcher - McM
Outstanding Freshman: Bethany Graham - McMurry University
Coach of the Year: Barbara Crousen - McMurry University

Men Individual Awards
High Points:
Cale Melton - McMurry University - 32 points
Outstanding Field Events: Cale Melton - McMurry University
Outstanding Athlete: Justin Rodgers - Mississippi College
Outstanding Freshman: Trey Bates - McMurry / Bill Scott - Sul Ross State
Coach of the Year: Barbara Crousen - McMurry University

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.