ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

Mary Hardin-Baylor Takes Team, Individual ASC Women's Golf Titles
April 24, 2002

Rachele Miller(Longview, Texas)-As expected, the No.3-ranked University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, led by Rachele Miller, defended its American Southwest Conference Women's Golf Championship and did so with relative ease over fourth-ranked McMurry University Tuesday (April 23) at Pinecrest Country Club in Longview, Texas.

The Lady Crusaders came in at 655, 24 shots ahead of McMurry (679). Hardin-Simmons University was third with an 815 and LeTourneau University fourth (829) in the two-day, 36-hole conference tournament.

Miller faltered slightly and finished with a second-round 81 after shooting a 78 on the first day, but managed to hold on and claim the women's tournament medalist honors by a stroke (78-81-159) over McMurry's Monica Blank (85-75-160). UMHB's Carrie Franciskovic finished third and teammate Tabitha Koon fourth. Brittany Carrie of McMurry was fifth. All five earned All-ASC First-Team honors.

The second five, named All-ASC Second-Team, were Theresa Ashorn of Texas Lutheran, Megan Newsome of Howard Payne, Randi Reed of McMurry, Mary Hardin-Baylor's Lauren Clemens, and Emily Breedlove of Mary Hardin-Baylor.

ASC 2002 Women's Golf Championship
Pinecrest Country Club, Longview, Texas
Par 71, 5817 yards

Team Scores

McMurry 342-337-679
Hardin-Simmons 405-410-815
Mary Hardin-Baylor 326-329-655
LeTourneau 417-412-829

Individual Top 10 Scores

Rachele Miller, UMHB 78-81-159
Monica Blank, McMurry 85-79-160
Carrie Franciskovic, UMHB 79-85-164
Tabitha Koon, UMHB 86-79-165
Brittany Carrie, McMurry 86-83-169
Thresa Ashorn, TLU 86-86--172
Megan Newsome, HPU 89-83-172
Randi Reed, McMurry 83-89-172
Lauren Clemens, UMHB 88-84-172
Emily Breedlove, UMHB 83-90-173

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.