ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

Two ASC Teams Earn Spots in NCAA Women's Golf Championship
May 7, 2002

Two ASC Teams Earn Spots in NCAA Women's Golf Championship May 7-The American Southwest Conference will make up 20 percent of the NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championship field, thanks to the selection of McMurry University and the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor to the 10-team field.

The NCAA Div. III Championships will be conducted May 14-17 (Tuesday-Saturday) at The Orchards Golf Club on the campus of Mount Holyoke College in South Hadley, Mass. Two teams from each of the five regions were selected along with 10 individuals not from selected teams to participate. McMurry and Mary Hardin-Baylor were both selected from Region 5

Both team and individual competitions will be contested in the 72-hole tournament. In the team competition, the low four scores from each team each day will count in the team's total score.

Mary Hardin-Baylor enters the NCAA Championship as the ASC champion and ranked No. 3 in the May 7 Golfstat national rankings. The Lady Crusaders are led by senior Rachele Miller who won ASC medalist honors (78-81-159) and is the current Div. III Women's College Cup leader (80.82-stroke ave.). Miller, Carrie Franciskovic and Tabitha Koon were ASC All-Conference First-Team finishers at the league championship.

McMurry finished behind UMHB at the ASC Championship and ranks No. 4 in the Golfstat rankings. Lady Indian senior Monica Blank, runner-up at the ASC Championship (85-75-160), ranks first in NCAA Div. III Par 3 (3.38) and Par 5 (5.48) scoring, and is second in Par 4 scoring (4.59). Brittany Carrie joined Blank on the ASC All-Conference First-Team.

Championship results and information will be available at

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.