ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

Eight ASC Players Earn NFCA All-Region Honors
May 13, 2002

May 13---Eight American Southwest Conference softball players were voted to positions on 2002 West Region teams by National Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association (NFCA), including a trio of East Texas Baptist teammates on the West Region First-Team.

The ETBU battery of pitcher Alicia Taylor and catcher Angela Gonzales join outfielder Tonya Minor on the NFCA West Region First-Team. Players on the 15-member West Region First-Team advance to the NFCA All-America team ballot.

Conference players named West Region Second-Team include pitcher Mindi Sheppard and shortstop Megan Foster of the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, and designated player Kristen Abernathy and at-large honoree Erica Hardy of East Texas Baptist.

Mary Hardin-Baylor third baseman Jessie Beard was named to the West Region Third-Team.

The Division III teams are voted on by NFCA Division III member coaches in their respective regions. A complete list of 2002 NFCA Division III regional teams is available at

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.