ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

On the Court: ASC Tennis Weekly Notebook
April 9, 2003

Men's Results
Upcoming Schedule

Men's Standings

Men's Stats

Women's Results
Upcoming Schedule

Women's Standings

Women's Stats

PDF Version of This Release

On the Court . . .

MC, HSU Claim Division Titles: Mississippi College and Hardin-Simmons University each claimed American Southwest Conference Division titles, earning top seeds in the April 25-26 ASC Tennis Championships at Abilene, Texas. MC won both the men's and women's East Division titles while Hardin-Simmons won the men's and women's West Division titles. Both squads will face the No. 2 seeds in their opposite divisions in the first round of the conference tournament.

ASC Championship Tournament Site Set: By virtue of its women's West Division title, Hardin-Simmons will serve as the host institution for the April 25-26 ASC Men's and Women's Tennis Championship. Match times and tournament site are TBA.

Fuyei XayKaothao of Ozarks and Andrew Gannon of Austin College went the distance on Saturday (Apr. 5) in a three-set No. 2 singles match that decided the match between the East Division rivals. Gannon won the first set 6-4, but XayKaothao came back for 6-4, 6-4 wins in the last two sets to take the match and give Ozarks a 4-3 victory.

The women's teams at Texas Lutheran and Mary Hardin-Baylor are battling for the No. 2 seed in the West Division and a postseason tournament berth. UMHB hosts McMurry and Sul Ross State in its final home matches of the season Friday and Saturday (Apr. 11-12). TLU plays Howard Payne on Saturday (Apr. 12) for its last ASC match.

Howard Payne freshman Matt Hembree won at No. 1 doubles and a tough three-set No. 1 singles match (7-6, 2-6, 7-5) against Mary Hardin-Baylor last weekend. Hembree improved to 3-1 in the ASC.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.