ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

On the Track: ASC Track and Field Weekly Notebook
April 23, 2003

PDF Version of This Release

Upcoming Meets

Thursday-Friday, April 24-25
ASC Men's & Women's Track & Field Championships
(Abilene, Texas / McMurry University)
Schedule of Events

Around the Conference . . .

2003 Track and Field ChampionshipsConference teams are getting ready for the ASC Men's and Women's Track and Field Championships scheduled April 24-25 in Abilene, Texas. The first day's events will be held at Abilene Christian University with day two set at McMurry University. Four field events, the steeplechase and 10,000m run will open the 2003 conference meet on Thursday evening. Friday's schedule opens with field events at 11 a.m. followed by the remaining running events at 2 p.m. . . . McMurry University will be looking to claim its fifth straight ASC men's and women's track and field titles. . . . ASC Championship schedule and results can be accessed at the McMurry athletic Website or here on the ASC Website.

Sophomore thrower Cody Brotherton has broken the McMurry shot put record four times this season, the last being an ASC season-best 57-0.5 performance at the April 12 Angelo State Relays. Brotherton ranks No. 1 in national shot put performance, according to Apple Raceberry Jam.

Texas Lutheran thrower Tiffani Hoot set the school hammer throw record with a toss of 104-9 at the Indian Relays (Apr. 17), finishing fifth in the event.

The ASC Track and Field Championships will be a prime opportunity for individuals to qualify for the May 22-24 NCAA-III Outdoor Track and Field Championships. Several teams will continue their seasons and qualification chances at May 3 and May 8 open meets. . . . The 2003 NCAA-III outdoor championships will be hosted by St. Lawrence University in Canton, N.Y.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.