ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

McMurry Men and Women Claim ASC Track and Field Titles
April 25, 2003

Complete Results

ABILENE, Texas - Host McMurry University swept both team titles at the 2003 American Southwest Conference Track and Field Championships Friday (April 25) at Indian Stadium.

The Indian men outscored second-place Sul Ross State 371-103 while their female counterparts defeated Texas Lutheran 340-187. This marks the fifth consecutive season in which both programs won the ASC in the same year.

Finishing behind McMurry and Sul Ross in the men's team standings were Mississippi College (80) and Howard Payne (60). For the women, Mississippi College (26), Howard Payne (23) and Sul Ross (19) wound up third through fifth.

Barbara Crousen was named the ASC Coach of the Year for both men and women.

Other individual award winners at the 2003 ASC Track and Field Championships include:

  • Outstanding Male and Female Track Athlete of the Year: Braegan Enright (McM); Darcell Edwards (McM)
  • Outstanding Male and Female Field Athlete of the Year: Cody Brotherton (McM); Tiffani Hoot (TLU)
  • Outstanding Male and Female Athlete Freshman of the Year: Phillip Givens (SRSU); Tracey White (McM)
  • High Point Meet Male and Female Athlete of the Year: Braegan Enright (McM); Darcell Edwards (McM)

The women's All-Conference track and field team was comprised of Edwards, White, Crystal Early (McM), Hoot, Erika Fischer (McM), Talila Harlmon (McM), Julie Sodolak (TLU), Brittnay Densman (McM), Ashley Porter (McM), Amanda Tucker (TLU), Tiffany Choate (McM), Amanda Ward (McM), Mallory Bryan (McM), Nicole Salerno (McM), Christalina Avalos (TLU), Jennifer Ybarra (TLU), Adriana Rameriz (McM), Courtney Chaney (McM), Laury Gates (McM), Amber Arrambide (TLU), Angela Crane (MC) and Liz Ramsey (HPU).

On the men's side, all-conference performers included Enright, Givens, Quinton Boldon (HPU), Brotherton, Ben Woods (McM), Ty Gerner (McM), Justin Rogers (MC), Larry Morales (SRSU), Daniel Sauls (McM), Trey Bates (McM), Jerrod Cook (McM), Matthew Manning (MC), Jacob Heidenreich (McM), Noah Abeita (McM), Quentin Lankford (McM), Jeff Robichaux (MC), Jeremy Cox (McM), James Townsend (McM), John Kniffen (McM), Anthony Joeris (McM), Ryder Peacock (McM), Calley Conner (McM), Jeremy Gonzales (McM) and Robert Williams (SRSU).

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.