ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

#15 East Texas Baptist Advances to Fourth Straight ASC Softball Championship Game; UT Dallas and Mary Hardin-Baylor Battle in Saturday's Semifinal
May 2, 2003

Friday Results:
Game 1: East Texas Baptist 4, Schreiner 1
Game 2: UT Dallas 7, Mary Hardin-Baylor 1
Game 3: Mary Hardin-Baylor 7, Schreiner 3 (SU eliminated)
Game 4: East Texas Baptist 6, UT Dallas 0

Saturday Schedule:
Game 5 (semifinal): UT Dallas vs. Mary Hardin-Baylor, 11 a.m.
Game 6 (championship): East Texas Baptist vs. Winner of Game 5 (UTD/UMHB), 1 p.m. / 3 p.m., if needed

IRVING, Texas ---- East Texas Baptist University upended Schreiner University and the University of Texas at Dallas to advance to Saturday's (May 3) championship game of the American Southwest Conference Softball Tournament for the fourth straight year.

The #15-ranked Lady Tigers (29-11) opened Friday's tournament games with a 4-1 win vs. Schreiner, then ran away from a determined UTD squad with a 6-0 win in the second round. ETBU will play the winner of the Mary Hardin-Baylor vs. UT Dallas semifinal game for the conference title and the league's automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Softball Championship.

ASC West Division champion Mary Hardin-Baylor (23-13) advanced to the tournament semifinal game for a second straight year with a 7-3 win over Schreiner in the first day elimination game. UMHB opened the tournament with a 7-1 loss to UT Dallas (20-16), the team it will face in the 11 a.m. semifinal. Schreiner ends its season 16-19 after finishing second in the ASC West Division.

Game 1: #15 East Texas Baptist 4, Schreiner 1 Box Score

East Texas Baptist scored two runs in the bottom of the fourth to break a 1-1 tie and added an insurance run in the sixth to hold off Schreiner 4-1 in first round play. ETBU third baseman Sarah Tackett went 3-for-3 at the plate, clobbering a key one-run double in the fourth. Devin Howard (4-1) posted the win for the Lady Tigers while Felicia Delgado (10-9), who doubled and singled for the Mountaineers, took the loss.

Game 2: UT Dallas 7, Mary Hardin-Baylor 1 Box Score

UT Dallas used two-run doubles by Stephanie Herrera in the first inning and Candace Felts in the second inning to set the tone in its 7-1 first round win against West Division champion Mary Hardin-Baylor. Felts led the Comets' nine-hit offense with a 3-for-4 day at the plate while Sarah Arldt tallied two singles. UTD added a run in the third and two in the seventh. UMHB scored its lone run in the bottom of the first on left fielder Kasey Pape's single up the middle. Christina Sass (12-8) recorded the win while Megan Brown (7-5) took the loss.

Game 3: Mary Hardin-Baylor 7, Schreiner 3 Box Score

Mary Hardin-Baylor held off a Schreiner rally in the bottom of the seventh, eliminating the Mountaineers with a 7-3 win. First baseman Jennifer Pietrowski put the Crusaders up 7-1 with a three-run home run inside the left field foul pole in the top of the seventh inning. Schreiner mounted a comeback in its half of the inning, scoring a pair of one-out runs before a fly-out and force-out ended the rally. Sarah Lemons (10-2) went the distance for UMHB while starter Shelley Stark (3-6) posted the loss.

Game 4: #15 East Texas Baptist 6, UT Dallas 0 Box Score

East Texas Baptist moved to the ASC Tournament championship game with a 6-0 shutout of UT Dallas in the winner's bracket game. The Lady Tigers broke open a scoreless game in the fifth inning when Tonya Minor doubled-in two runs and later scored on Angela Gonzalez' single. The next inning Jessica Hunt tripled to drive in a run and scored on Jennifer Doyal's sacrifice to put ETBU ahead 5-0. Hunt, who was 2-for-3, doubled-in Lexi Langley in the seventh for the final score. Carrie Mills (3-1) went the distance for the win while Stephanie Herrera (11-9) struck out four in the loss.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.