ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

#15 East Texas Baptist Claims Fourth Straight ASC Softball Championship Title
ETBU's Tacket hits .714 and Named MVP, All-Tourney Team Selected
May 3, 2003

Friday Results:
Game 1: East Texas Baptist 4, Schreiner 1
Game 2: UT Dallas 7, Mary Hardin-Baylor 1
Game 3: Mary Hardin-Baylor 7, Schreiner 3 (SU eliminated)
Game 4: East Texas Baptist 6, UT Dallas 0
Friday Summaries

Saturday Results:
Game 5 (semifinal): Mary Hardin-Baylor 3, UT Dallas 2
Game 6 (championship): East Texas Baptist 8, Mary Hardin-Baylor 0

#15 East Texas Baptist Claims Fourth Straight ASC Softball Championship Title
Box Score

IRVING, Texas ---- East Texas Baptist University tallied its fourth consecutive American Southwest Conference softball tournament title with a convincing 8-0 win over West Division champion University of Mary Hardin-Baylor on Saturday (May 3). The #15-ranked Lady Tigers (30-11) also earned the conference's automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Softball Championship for a second consecutive season.

ETBU wasted little time in claiming the league title, scoring four runs in the first inning and chasing UMHB starter Sarah Lemons after seven batters. Allison Ratcliff dropped a long RBI double at the base of the left field fence to highlight the first inning, then later blasted a solo home run over the fence at the same spot in the third. The Lady Tigers scored in every inning but the second and clinched the run-rule victory in the fifth on an RBI triple by Jessica Hunt that plated tournament MVP Sarah Tackett for the winning run.

Ratcliff and Tackett led the eight-hit ETBU offense with two hits apiece. Tackett, Hunt, Ratcliff and Angela Gonzales each drove-in a pair of runs.

Freshman right-hander Amy Lockhart (6-1) went the distance for the win, throwing a five-hitter with two strikeouts. Lemons (10-3) took the loss allowing three hits and four runs, while reliever Angela Cavender gave up five hits and four runs over 3.2 innnigs. Center fielder Denise Lira led Mary Hardin-Baylor (24-14) with two hits.

UMHB Posts Comeback 3-2 Win in Semifinal Game
Box Score

Mary Hardin-Baylor advanced to the ASC Softball Tournament championship game with a come-from-behind 3-2 win over UT Dallas (20-17) in Saturday's semifinal game.. Shortstop Megan Foster-drilled a game-winning three-run triple to left center field in the fifth inning to put UMHB ahead 3-2. UTD shortstop Laura Hatfield put the Comets on the scoreboard with an RBI double in the third and a run-scoring single in the fifth. Angela Cavender (7-6) went the distance for the Crusaders, striking-out three and scattering four hits. Stephanie Herrera gave up three hits and struck out four in the loss (11-10).

All-Tournament Honors
East Texas Baptist freshman third baseman Sarah Tackett (Flower Mound, Texas) was named Most Valuable Player of the ASC Softball Championship Tournament after leading all hitters with a blistering .714 batting average (5-for-7) with three RBI and a pair of doubles.

The 2003 ASC Softball Championship All-Tournament team includes:
Sarah Arldt, 3B, Fr., UT Dallas; Angela Cavender, P, Fr., UMHB; Felicia Delgado, P/1B, Sr., Schreiner; Candace Felts, 1B, Jr., UTD; Megan Foster, SS, Sr., UMHB; Stephanie Herrera, P, Fr., UTD; Jessica Hunt, 1B, Fr., ETBU; Denise Lira, CF, Sr., UMHB; Carrie Mills, P, So., ETBU; Allison Ratcliff, DP, Fr., ETBU; Shannon Solis, 3B, Sr., Schreiner.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.