ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

ASC Players Earn ABCA All-West Region Team Accolades
May 25, 2004

Fourteen players from American Southwest Conference baseball team rosters claimed places on the 2004 All-West Region teams selected by the American Baseball Coaches Association.

Three conference players earned spots on the All-West Region First Team. ASC West Division Player of the Year Josh Lee of McMurry was named at utility after playing at both pitcher and infield throughout the season. Lee was also 2003 All-West Region First Team pick at utility a year ago. ASC East Player of the Year Trey Luster of East Texas Baptist claimed an outfield position while Tim Gardner of Concordia-Austin is the first team catcher.

The ABCA All-West Second Team featured seven conference players, including catcher Trent Goree and shortstop Justin Ard of first-year ASC member UT Tyler. McMurry shortstop Albert Carrizales and outfielder Greg Erickson, catcher Tommy Edwards of East Texas Baptist and pitchers Anthony Adler of UT Dallas and Derek Tillman of Mississippi College complete the ASC representatives on the region second team.

First baseman David White of Concordia-Austin, third baseman Michael Biguenet of UT Dallas and shortstop Chris Dusablon of Texas Lutheran join pitcher Kevin McKnight of UT Dallas in the All-West Third Team infield.

All 14 ASC representatives on the coaches All-West Region teams each earned conference division teams honors. This is the second-most number of ASC players to earn All-West Region citation, with 17 players named to the region team in 2003.


First Team Tim Gardner C Sr. Concordia-Austin
First Team Josh Lee UT Sr. McMurry
First Team Trey Luster OF     Jr. East Texas Baptist
Second Team      Tommy Edwards     C Sr.     East Texas Baptist
Second Team Trent Goree C Fr. Univ. Texas-Tyler
Second Team Justin Ard SS Jr. Univ. Texas-Tyler
Second Team Greg Erickson OF So. McMurry
Second Team Anthony Adler P Sr. Univ. Texas-Dallas
Second Team Derek Tillman P Sr. Mississippi College
Third Team David White 1B Sr. Concordia-Austin
Third Team Michael Biguenet 3B Sr. Univ. Texas-Dallas
Third Team Chris Dusablon SS Jr. Texas Lutheran
Third Team Kevin McKnight P Jr. Univ. Texas-Dallas

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.