ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
Student Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite Description

McMurry’s Brittany Cary Finalist for Honda Division III Athlete of the Year Award
May 26, 2004

Courtesy McMurry Sports Information

SOLANA BEACH, Calif. - McMurry University junior golfer Brittany Cary has been named a finalist for the Honda NCAA Division III Athlete of the Year for 2003-04, according to Tora Grossman of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards organization.

Brittany Cary

McMurry University junior golfer Brittany Cary has been named a finalist for the Honda NCAA Division III Athlete of the Year

Cary is one of 12 finalists and the only candidate from the state of Texas as Division III membership includes student-athletes from 414 institutions. She joins other nominees Missy Buttry (cross country) of Wartburg, Allison Coleman (basketball) of Eastern Connecticut State, Beth Galloway (swimming) of Kenyon, Kristin Moyer (field hockey) of Eastern Mennonite, Renee Neuner (soccer) of Chicago, Carrie Santore (gymnastics) of SUNY-Brockport, Amy Smith (volleyball) of La Verne and Katie Wagenblast (lacrosse) of College of New Jersey and three more to be named.

Two weeks ago Cary captured the individual title at the NCAA-III Women's Golf Championships, winning by two strokes. Cary was named first-team All-America both by the National Golf Coaches Association (fall and spring performance) and NCAA (tournament finish). She also was honored as the national player of the year. Cary also claimed the American Southwest Conference crown, was named to the all-conference first team and took medalist honors in all six tournaments she played this spring.

To be nominated, a student-athlete is recommended to the CWSA Board of Directors by the national governing bodies of each sport. Senior Women's Administrators at each institution vote on the winners to represent their sport and then SWAs select a national winner from that pool of 12 candidates.

American Honda Motor Company, Inc., will donate $1,000 to the McMurry Athletic Dept. on behalf of Cary's name. If Cary wins the top honor, the school would receive $5,000 and she would be recognized at a June 21 press conference at the Low Library on the campus of Columbia University in New York City.

The CWSA program, presented by Honda, conducts five awards including the Honda-Broderick Cup, Honda Sports Awards, Division II Athlete of the Year, Division III Athlete of the Year and Honda Inspiration. This program has been in existence for 28 years and recognizes the top female collegiate athlete for divisions II and III. CWSA has selected a Division III athlete of the year every academic year since 1987-88.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.