ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

Cowboys Win Fourth Straight ASC Men's Tennis Title
Wu clinches match, named tourney MVP
April 18, 2005

This Release in PDF Format

ABILENE, Texas - Hardin-Simmons' men's tennis team its fourth straight American Southwest Conference title and its 43rd straight ASC match as it defeated UT Tyler 4-2 at the Streich Tennis Center on Sunday afternoon.

ASC Championship Tournament MVP David Wu clinched the match for the Cowboys. He broke his No. 1 singles match with Adam Stone at 5-5 in the second set and went on to serve out the match. The Cowboys also received wins at No. 4 singles from Roy Lehman 6-3, 6-4, over Jordan Repshear and at No. 6 singles from Wade Morgan 6-1, 6-1 over Joseph Vann.

UT Tyler picked up wins at No. 3 singles from Patrick Painter and No. 5 from Kevin Cook and had split sets at No. 2 singles to tighten up the match. HSU had won the doubles point with wins at No. 1 and No. 2.

The Cowboys improved to 17-5 with the win and UT-Tyler finished the year at 14-5.

David Wu, Hardin-Simmons (MVP)
Dante Cage, Texas Lutheran
Steven Campbell, UT-Tyler
Kevin Cook, UT-Tyler
Brad Grace, Hardin-Simmons
Roy Lehman, Hardin-Simmons
Wade Morgan, Hardin-Simmons
Josh Schumann, Schreiner

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.