ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

Cowgirls Claims Fifth Straight ASC Women's Tennis Title
HSU wins 49th straight match in taking crown
April 18, 2005

This Release in PDF Format

ABILENE, Texas - Hardin-Simmons' women's tennis team won its fifth straight American Southwest Conference title with a 5-0 blanking of Texas Lutheran, Sunday afternoon in the championship at the Streich Tennis Center on the HSU campus.

The Cowgirls won all three doubles points to claim control of the match then Sara Beth Bolin scored a 6-0, 6-0 win at No. 6 singles and Stephanie Haynes won 6-0, 6-2 at No. 5 singles to close out the match. The rest of the matches went unfinished.

The win was the first ASC title for head coach Shane Williford. Haynes was named the Tournament MVP and she was joined on the All-Tournament team by teammates Caroline Scott, Hazel de la Torre and Tracy Hennington.

HSU is now 14-6 on the season and will await word from the NCAA for a berth into the NCAA Championships.

Stephanie Haynes, Hardin-Simmons (MVP)
Angela Bryant, Texas Lutheran
Hazel de la Torre, Hardin-Simmons
Tracy Hennington, Hardin-Simmons
April Seydler, Texas Lutheran
Caroline Scott, Hardin-Simmons
Sarah Spraberry, Mississippi College
Marie Williams, Howard Payne

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.