ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

McMurry Leads ASC Track Championships After First Day
April 22, 2005

BROWNWOOD, Texas --- McMurry won three women's and one men's events during Friday evening competition to hold solid leads after the first four events of the 2005 American Southwest Conference Track and Field Championships hosted by Howard Payne.

The McMurry women piled-up 67 points to outdistance second-place Texas Lutheran (46), Sul Ross State (10) and Mississippi College (1). On the men's side, McMurry totaled 68 points to better Sul Ross State (27), Mississippi College (17) and Howard Payne (12).

Nicole Salerno captured both the long jump (5.50m) and triple jump (10.82m) titles to lead the McMurry women's wins on the first day. Courtney Chaney picked up the third Lady Indian title of the day with a 46.04-meter toss in the hammer throw. Tracy Dodds of Texas Lutheran won the women's 10,000-meter run (45:19.13).

Cody Brotherton was first among four McMurry throwers sweeping the men's hammer throw, posting a winning toss of 45.58m. Brandon Cook of Mississippi College won the 10,000m run. The men's long jump title went to Phillip Givens of Sul Ross State (6.90m) while Howard Payne's Elijah Abbdeen won the triple jump (13.76m).

Saturday's final day of conference championship events begins at 11:00 a.m. with several field event finals followed by running event finals at approximately 2:00 p.m. All ASC Championship events are scheduled at Gordon Wood Stadium in Brownwood.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.