ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

ASC Championship Fields Set in Baseball
April 23, 2005

RICHARDSON, Texas ---- Eight baseball teams continue their 2005 seasons playing in the expanded ASC Baseball Championship Tournament Series, opening their postseason runs Friday and Saturday in a best two-of-three series. The Tournament concludes May 6-8 under a double-elimination format.

East Texas Baptist and Texas Lutheran are the No. 1 seeds in the tournament. The pair as well as Louisiana College (No. 2 East seed) and Hardin-Simmons (No. 2 West seed) host first-round two-of-three series on Friday-Saturday (Apr. 29-30).

UT-Dallas (#3 East seed), Mississippi College (#4 East seed), Concordia-Austin (#3 West seed) and McMurry (#4 West seed) complete the 2005 ASC Tournament field.

The winner of the ASC Baseball Championship earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Baseball Championships.

First Round: Friday-Saturday, April 29-30 [best 2-of-3 series]

Game 1: McMurry @ East Texas Baptist, 3:00 Fri/11:00 Sat
Game 2: UT-Dallas @ Hardin-Simmons, 7:00 Fri/1:00 Sat
Game 3: Concordia-Austin @ Louisiana College, 6:00 Fri/12:00 Sat
Game 4: Mississippi College @ Texas Lutheran, 2:00 Fri/11:00 Sat
Championship Round: Friday-Sunday, May 6-8 [double-elimination]
Hosted by ASC East #1 seed or highest remaining seed (TBA)
Friday, May 6
Game 5: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2
Game 6: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4
Saturday, May 7
Game 7: Loser Game 5 vs. Loser Game 6
Game 8: Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6
Game 9: Winner Game 7 vs. Loser Game 8
Sunday, May 8
Game 10: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 9
Game 11 (if needed): Game 10 Teams *
Winner of ASC Baseball Championship Series earns an automatic berth in the NCAA-III Baseball Championship

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.