ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

TLU Snags Women's Track & Field Title; McMurry Runs Men's Championship String to Seven
April 23, 2005

BROWNWOOD, Texas – The Texas Lutheran women’s track and field team won its first-ever American Southwest Conference Championship by edging six-time defending conference champion McMurry by six points, 264.50 to 258.50. McMurry added to its string of men's conference track and field championships, easily winning its seventh straight by a 248-point margin over runner-up Mississippi College (347-99).

TLU sealed its conference title with a victory in the final event, the 4x400 meter relay. Texas Lutheran entered the women's final event needing to finish no lower than one spot behind McMurry in the 4x400.

Texas Lutheran posted conference championship performances in nine individual and two relay events. Bulldogs winner included: Amber Meeks in the 100 (12.25 seconds), Tracy Dodds in the 5,000 (21:03.30) and 10,000 (45:19.13), Samara Williams in the 100 hurdles (14.66) and 400 hurdles (1:05.34), Jami Calhoon in the high jump (1.62 meters), Jessica Raglon in the pole vault (3.33 meters), Patti Hank in the 3,000 steeplechase (12:45.80), and Tiffani Hoot in the shot put (11.97 meters).

McMurry won eight individual women's championships with Taron Weaver (200, 400), Samantha Burgess (800, 1500) and Nicole Salerno (Long Jump, Triple Jump) each double event winners. Rachel Rothermel (discus) and Courtney Chaney (Hammer Throw) complete the Lady Indians' champions. Rebecca Crane of Mississippi College won the javelin.

McMurry won both relays and dominated with depth in both field and running events in winning its seventh straight conference championship. Cody Brotherton (Shot Put, Hammer Throw), Kevin Figgs (110 Hurdles, 400 Hurdles), John Mikalik (400), Matt Brown (800) and Tad Thomas (Pole Vault) each grabbed individual titles.

Mississippi College claimed four men's championships with two double-winners: Brandon Cook (10,000 and 3,000 steeplechase) and Matthew Manning (1500, 5000). Phillip Givens (100, Long Jump) and Gilbert Almanza (High Jump) won titles for Sul Ross State. Howard Payne won two events: Greg Nixon (200) and Elijah Abbdeen (Triple Jump).

American Southwest Conference Track and Field Championships April 22-23, 2005 Brownwood, Texas (Gordon Wood Stadium-HPU)

1 Texas Lutheran 264.5
2 McMurry University 258.5
3 Mississippi College 53
4 Sul Ross State 25
5 Howard Payne 6
1 McMurry 347
2 Mississippi College 99
3 Sul Ross State 88
4 Howard Payne 79


Track Athlete of the Meet: Kelvin Figss, McMurry
Field Athlete of the Meet: Cody Brotherton, McMurry
Co-Freshman of the Year: Kelvin Figgs, McMurry; Brandon Cook, Mississippi College
Coach of the Year: Barbara Crousen, McMurry
Track Athlete of the Meet: Samara Burgess, Texas Lutheran
Field Athlete of the Meet: Nicole Salerno, McMurry
Freshman of the Year: Tracy Dodds, Texas Lutheran
Coach of the Year: Kandice Erwin, Texas Lutheran

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.