ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

Louisiana College Grabs First ASC Softball Title
April 30, 2005

IRVING, Texas --- Louisiana College won three times on Saturday to claim its first ASC softball title and earn an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Championship tournament. Tournament MVP Sandi Clark pitched a one-hitter and drilled a three-run home run in the 6-0 championship win vs. Hardin-Simmons.

2005 All-Tournament Team

Sandi Clark, Louisiana College (MVP)
Sarah Ardlt, UT-Dallas
Adrina Arenas, UT-Dallas
Lydia Bradley, Hardin-Simmons
Nicole Cortez, Hardin-Simmons
Rachel Freeman, Mary Hardin-Baylor
Tiffany Haines, Texas Lutheran
Kayla Hemperly, Louisiana College
Kim Leggett, Louisiana College
Allison Ratcliff, East Texas Baptist
Leanne Shanks, Louisiana College
Arin Spence, Hardin-Simmons
Amanda Stevens, Texas Lutheran

The Lady Wildcats (32-9), who also won the ASC East Division title, will have an open weekend before learning their NCAA regional opponent when the national tournament bracket is announced on Sunday evening, May 8. Regionals are scheduled May 13-16 at eight on-campus sites with the winners playing in the finals May 20-24 at Raleigh, N.C.

Louisiana College opened Saturday's march to the championship with a 7-0 shutout of UT-Dallas, then forced the second tournament championship game with a 9-3 win against Hardin-Simmons before blanking the Cowgirls 9-0 in the run-ruled six-inning title game.

Game 9: Louisiana College 7, UT-Dallas 0 Box Score
Louisiana College scored a single run in the first and three runs in both the fourth and seventh innings to shutout UT-Dallas 7-0 and move into the championship game against Hardin-Simmons. The loss eliminated UTD (25-17). LC (30-9) scattered 11 hits off three Comet pitchers, including three singles by Trista Helverson and two hits each by Kim Leggett and Erica Harwell. Sandi Clark went the distance for LC, allowing five hits and striking out two. Daci DeLeon took the loss for UTD.

Game 10: Louisiana College 9, Hardin-Simmons 3 Box Score
Hardin-Simmons scored twice in the top of the first, but Louisiana College answered with four runs in the bottom half of the inning and another in the second en route to a 9-3 win to force the if-needed tournament championship game. Lady Wildcats first baseman Katherine Horton smacked two-run doubles in the first and fourth innings, the second opening a 7-3 LC lead that Hardin-Simmons never threatened. LC pitcher Emillie Collins allowed only one Cowgirls' single in the last three innings, striking out five with one walk in a complete-game win. Arin Spence hit a triple, two singles and scored twice, while Lydia Bradley went 2-for-4 with 2 RBI to pace seven-hit HSU offense.

Game 11/Championship: Louisiana College 9, Hardin-Simmons 0 (6 innings) Box Score
Pitcher Sandi Clark tossed a one-hit gem from the circle and drilled a three-run home run from the plate to lead Louisiana College to its first ASC softball title and NCAA Championship Tournament berth with a 9-0 win vs. Hardin-Simmons (32-9). Clark carried a no-hitter into the sixth, giving up an infield single to leadoff hitter Emily Schlebach, and twice retired the side on strikeouts. Kayla Hemperly, Trista Helverson, Emillie Collins, Erica Harwell and Kim Leggett each finished with two hits as the Lady Wildcats (32-9) totaled 13 hits, including a double and two home runs, off three HSU pitchers.

American Southwest Conference Softball Championship Tournament
(Irving, Texas / Southwest Park)
Thursday, April 28
Game 1: East Texas Baptist 6, Mary Hardin-Baylor 1
Game 2: Texas Lutheran 4, UT-Dallas 1
Friday, April 29
Game 3: Louisiana College 6, East Texas Baptist 3
Game 4: Hardin-Simmons 3, Texas Lutheran 0
Game 5: Texas Lutheran 1, Mary Hardin-Baylor 0
Game 6: UT-Dallas 4, East Texas Baptist 3
Game 7: Hardin-Simmons 4, Louisiana College 3
Game 8: UT-Dallas 3, Texas Lutheran 0
Saturday, April 30
Game 9: Louisiana College 7, UT-Dallas 0
Game 10: Louisiana College 9, Hardin-Simmons 3
* Game 11/Championship: Louisiana College 9, Hardin-Simmons 0 (6)
*Tournament winner earns automatic berth to NCAA-III National Softball Championship Tournament.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.