ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

Texas Lutheran Heads Westward for NCAA Baseball Regional
May 16, 2005

Courtesy TLU Sports Information

ASC baseball champion Texas Lutheran heads to southern California for NCAA Division III Baseball Regional action this weekend, opening its national championship run against Linfield College (Ore.) in Thursday's 3:00 p.m. first-round game.

Playing in a four-team, double-elimination regional, TLU is one of 42 teams competing for the NCAA Division III championship. The eight regional champions will play in the May 27-31 double-elimination championship at Appleton, Wis.

No. 17-ranked Texas Lutheran (33-8) is the No. 3 seed in the Chapman regional field. Linfield (33-7) is seeded second in the regional and carries a No. 11 ranking in the ABCA/Collegiate Baseball Div. III coaches poll. No. 2-ranked Chapman University (32-8), the 2003 national champion, is host and top-seed in the regional and opens against No. 4 seed University of La Verne (30-11), who is ranked No. 23.

All of the Texas Lutheran games will be available via internet at

Texas Lutheran, Linfield (Northwest Conference) and La Verne (Southern California Athletic Conference) earned berths to the national tournament by winning their respective conference titles. Chapman, an independent, was a Pool B selection by the national committee.

The complete list of NCAA Division III regional qualifying teams, sites and seeds is available online at Results from the eight regional sites will also be available on the same website.

In last year's championship, George Fox University won its first-ever NCAA Division III Baseball Championship with a 6-3 victory over Eastern Connecticut State.

(Orange, Calif. / W.O. Hart Park)
All times Pacific
Thursday, May 19
Game 1: #11 Linfield (#2 seed) vs. #17 Texas Lutheran (#3 seed), 3:00
Game 2: #2 Chapman (#1 seed) vs. #23 LaVerne (#4 seed), 7:00
Friday, May 20
Game 3: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 11:00
Game 4: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 3:00 (elimination game)
Game 5: Winner Game 4 vs. Loser Game 3, 7:00 (elimination game)
Saturday, May 21
Game 6/Championship: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 5, 11:00
Game 7: If needed, 3:00

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.