ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

15 Earn Softball Postseason National, Region and Tournament Awards
June 1, 2005

Fifteen American Southwest Conference softball student-athletes capped their 2005 seasons with selection to teams by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association and the NCAA regional tournament committee.

Sadye HillHardin-Simmons first baseman Sadye Hill finished her first collegiate softball season earning All-America Third Team and All-West Region First Team honors as an at-large selection from the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA). Hill was an ASC All-Conference and All-ASC West Division First Team pick at utility and earned co-ASC West Freshman of the Year honors after batting .479 with 58 hits, 46 RBI and eight home runs for the season. She is the lone ASC player on the NFCA All-America team.

Eleven ASC players were named to the NFCA All-West Region teams with Hill and Nicole Cortez claiming region first team selection. Cortez, an outfielder, batted .368, scored 36 runs and hit 16 doubles for Hardin-Simmons.

NFCA West Region Second Team honors went to shortstop Christy Shipley and designated player Allison Ratcliff of East Texas Baptist; pitcher Arin Spence of Hardin-Simmons; and UT-Dallas infielder Sarah Ardlt and pitcher Daci DeLeon.

Four conference players earned spots on the NFCA West Region Third Team: UT-Dallas shortstop Amber Griffin and outfielder Kate Lightfield; East Texas Baptist first baseman Holley Martin; and UT Tyler pitcher Jenelle Morrison.

NCAA Division III West Regional Championship Tournament runner-up Louisiana College landed four players on the all-tournament team: pitcher Sandi Clark, outfielder Misty Roark and at-large selections Kayla Hemperley and Katherine Horton.

National Fastpitch Coaches Association: Division III

All-America Third Team At-Large     Sadye Hill Fr Hardin-Simmons
West Region First Team OF Nicole Cortez Jr. Hardin-Simmons
  First Team At-Large Sadye Hill Fr. Hardin-Simmons
  Second Team     SS Christy Shipley So. East Texas Baptist
  Second Team DP Allison Ratcliff Jr. East Texas Baptist
  Second Team At-Large Sarah Ardlt Jr. Texas-Dallas
  Second Team At-Large Daci DeLeon So.     Texas-Dallas
  Second Team At-Large Arin Spence So. Hardin-Simmons
  Third Team At-Large Jenelle Morrison     Sr. Texas-Tyler
  Third Team At-Large Holley Martin Sr. East Texas Baptist
  Third Team At-Large Amber Griffin Fr. Texas-Dallas
  Third Team At-Large Kate Lightfield Fr. Texas-Dallas

NCAA Division III West Regional Championship Tournament

All-Tournament Outfield Misty Roark Sr. Louisiana College
  Pitcher Sandi Clark Jr. Louisiana College
  At-Large Kayla Hemperley     Jr. Louisiana College
  At-Large     Katherine Horton So.     Louisiana College

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.