ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

ETBU, Mississippi College Post First Round Softball Wins
April 27, 2006

IRVING, Texas --- The 2006 American Southwest Conference Softball Championship Tournament opened Thursday with East Texas Baptist posting a 4-0 shutout of Howard Payne and Mississippi College exploding for a 7-1 win vs. Mary Hardin-Baylor. ETBU and MC move on to face the No. 1 seeds Hardin-Simmons and Louisiana College in Friday's opening games while UMHB and HPU are each in a must-win situation in the double-elimination tournament.

Game 1: Mississippi College 7, Mary Hardin-Baylor 1 Box Score
Mississippi College spotted Mary Hardin-Baylor a 1-0 lead in the bottom of the first, then roared back with a pair of runs in the second four in the third and one in the fourth to upend the West Division runner-up 7-1. MC third baseman Sandi Maillian smacked a pair of doubles, driving-in three runs on her first two-bagger in the third, as the Lady Choctaws battered UMHB starter Daphne Kahlig for six runs on five hits, including three for extra-bases. Katie Perry earned the win, giving up one unearned run and five hits in the complete game victory.

Game 2: East Texas Baptist 4, Howard Payne 0 Box Score
East Texas Baptist spoiled Howard Payne's return to the ASC postseason tournament, handing the Lady Jackets a 4-0 loss behind the 4-hit, 6-strikeout shutout performance of pitcher Kelli Shipley and the trio of Jaimie Molling, Allison Ratcliff and Kacey McKinney who each went 2-for-3 with an extra-base hit. ETBU broke open the scoreless game with three runs in the fourth, keyed by triples from Molling and McKinney and a double by Ratcliff. Christy Shipley's solo home run to right center in the fifth capped Lady Tiger scoring. Tiffany Wolfe took the loss for HPU despite retiring six batters via strikeouot.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.