ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

Texas Lutheran Off to NCAA Division III West Regional Baseball Championship
May 15, 2006

Courtesy Texas Lutheran Sports Information

SEGUIN, Texas – The Texas Lutheran baseball team's second consecutive trip to the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship includes a return to Orange, Calif., for the West Region tournament and a third meeting with area rival Trinity.

TLU (32-11-1) received a No. 5 seed in the West Region and plays No. 2 seed Trinity (33-11) on Wednesday in the double-elimination tournament’s opening round. All West Region tournament games will be played at Hart Park in Orange, Calif.

The West Regional tournament contains six teams: TLU, Trinity, No. 1 seed Redlands (30-9), No. 3 seed and host Chapman (27-10), No. 4 seed California State-East Bay (24-10) and No. 6 seed George Fox (27-13). Texas Lutheran is the only American Southwest Conference member selected for the 53-team NCAA Championship field, earning the league's automatic berth.

TLU, the American Southwest Conference champion, finished as the West Region runner-up in 2005.

Trinity, the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference champion, was the West Region runner-up in 2002 and 2004. TLU and Trinity played twice during the regular season. TLU won 4-3 in Seguin on Feb. 14 and won 6-3 in San Antonio on April 18.

Chapman defeated TLU twice in the championship round of the 2005 West Region tournament and advanced to last season’s NCAA DIII World Series. Chapman, who will host the West Regional tournament for a fourth consecutive year, won the 2003 Division III national title. George Fox won the 2004 national championship.

Results from the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship regional and national final games can be accessed at

West Regional: May 17-21 at Orange, Calif. (hosted by Chapman University)

  1. Redlands (30-9)
  2. Trinity (Texas) (33-11)
  3. Chapman (27-10)
  4. Cal State East Bay (24-10)
  5. Texas Lutheran (32-11-1)
  6. George Fox (27-13)

FINALS: May 26-30 at Appleton, Wis.
First round matchups for the NCAA Division III national championship site will be as follows:
Ithaca regional winner vs. Chapman regional winner
Eastern College Athletic Conference regional winner vs. N.C. Wesleyan regional winner
Washington University (Mo.) regional winner vs. Alvernia regional winner
Rose-Hulman regional winner vs. Wisconsin-Stevens Point regional winner

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.