ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

Fred Jacoby Retires as ASC Commissioner; Amy Carlton Appointed Conference Interim Commissioner
July 11, 2006

RICHARDSON, Texas --- Fred Jacoby, the first commissioner of the American Southwest Conference, announced his retirement after 10 years as the top league executive.

Fred Jacoby

Jacoby, 78, began his tenure with the intercollegiate athletics league in May 1996, and led expansion of the ASC from eight to 16 members to form a strong regional athletic conference that includes institutions in the states of Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. Jacoby shepherded conference member institutions from NAIA and NCAA Division II affiliations to NCAA Division III membership. The ASC gained voting status as a Division III conference August 1, 1998.

Following Jacoby's decision to retire from the conference, the ASC Council of Presidents appointed Amy Carlton interim commissioner, effective July 2006.

During Jacoby's tenure, the ASC made its mark in NCAA Championship competition and in the classroom. Athletes claimed individual national titles in women's golf and track and field. The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor finished runner-up for the 2004 football championship and Hardin-Simmons University reached the Final Four in the 2006 women's basketball championship. Student-athletes at ASC schools earned All-America, All-District and All-Region citations for academic and athletic achievements, as well as NCAA postgraduate scholarships.

The ASC Council of Presidents voted in May to name the league's sportsmanship award in honor of Jacoby who has exemplified sportsmanship at the highest level throughout his lengthy intercollegiate athletics career. The ASC Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award is presented to a male and female student-athlete who best displays the attributes of sportsmanship, leadership, citizenship and academic integrity in their athletic, academic and life pursuits. Bethany Harris of Mississippi College and Kyle Shipp of the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor were the first recipients of the renamed award (2005-06).

In June 2002 Jacoby was chosen by the National Invitation Tournament and the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) to receive the 21st NACDA/NIT Athletics Directors Award. Jacoby was named an Honorary Member of the Southwest Athletic Trainers Association Hall of Fame in June 2006.

Jacoby retires from the ASC with well over 50 years experience in full-time coaching and athletics administration. His career includes 10 years on the high school coaching level, eight years as an assistant football coach at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and 36 years as an intercollegiate conference commissioner with positions at all three NCAA divisions. Jacoby was the first commissioner of the Wisconsin State University Conference (1966-71, now WIAC), and served as commissioner for the Mid-American Conference (1971-82) and Southwest Conference (1982-93). After retiring for one year (1993), Jacoby was named the first full-time commissioner for the NCAA-Division II Lone Star Conference in 1994, retiring from that position in the summer of 2006.

A native of Logan, Ohio, Jacoby earned degrees from Ohio State University and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He served as Chair of the National Letter of Intent Program for the longest tenure in its history – 22 years from 1973-95. Jacoby is past president of the Collegiate Commissioners Association, chair of NCAA committees on Membership Structure, Postgraduate Scholarship, Research and Championship Standards. In past years, he also served on several NCAA committees, was secretary-treasurer of the College Football Association and is a member of the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association Team Selection Committee.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.