ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

McMurry Captures First ASC Title in School History When Women Win Cross Country Championship
October 28, 2006

Courtesy McMurry University Sports Information Department

Complete Results (PDF)

Race Start

TYLER, Texas – The McMurry women's cross country team – coached by David Chandler – won its first American Southwest Conference Championship in history with 32 points and Carla Lewis won the individual title on Saturday at the ASC Championships.

Carla Lewis

2006 women's champion and freshman of the year Carla Lewis of McMurry races down the finish chute.

Lewis, a freshman, ran a 24:11 in the 6K race, which broke her own school record of 24:22 she set on Sept. 9. She cruised by the competition, as the runner-up, Texas Lutheran's Staci Jackson, ran 49 seconds behind her.

Along with Lewis, Kaelan Meals finished in fourth-place, Juliann Ashabranner was fifth, Brittany Brown was 10th and Kelli Johnson finished 12th. Meals' time of 25:15 was the seventh fastest 6K time in McMurry's school history.

Texas Lutheran was the runner-up with 66 points, followed by Texas-Tyler (86) and Mississippi College (87).

McMurry had placed second in the ASC meet the past six seasons. Sarah Ashton, Casey Filis and Amanda David rounded out the other three spots for McMurry.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.