ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

West Top Seed Texas Lutheran Set to Host Six-Team ASC Volleyball Championship Tournament
October 29, 2006

RICHARDSON, Texas –– Texas Lutheran University posted a league record of 15-3 to claim the American Southwest Conference West Division volleyball title for the fifth time in seven years and the right to host the 2006 ASC Volleyball Championship Tournament at Tostengard Activity Center in Seguin, Texas, beginning on Friday and lasting through Saturday (November 3-4).

Texas Lutheran UniversityThe Bulldogs (18-10 overall), who won the ASC crown in 2004 when they last hosted, receive a first-round bye, as will East Texas Baptist University (19-11). The three-time conference champion Tigers, who are making their six straight tourney appearance, earned the East Division’s top seed over fellow co-champion University of Texas at Dallas (22-6) because of a tie-breaker. UTD, however, enters with the best overall winning percentage in the six-team field.

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor (9-21) claimed the East’s third and final seed and will make its first tourney appearance since 2001.

Hardin-Simmons University (16-14), which reached the championship game last season in its first-ever taste of the postseason, took the West’s No. 2 seed. Sul Ross State University (14-17) clinched the division’s No. 3 seed and will make its second-ever trip to the tourney.

University of Texas at Tyler finished in third place in the East Division but remains ineligible for postseason play because it is a NCAA provisional member.

Austin College, which is no longer a member of the ASC, won the 2005 conference championship with a three-game victory.

Returning All-Tournament selections are Hardin-Simmons’ Chelsea Buetow and Megan Lawrence.

The ASC championship tourney winner earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Championship.

-Hosted by Texas Lutheran University, Seguin, Texas-
Friday, November 3 (Quarterfinals)
Match 1: #2W Hardin-Simmons (16-14) vs. #3E Mary Hardin-Baylor (9-21), 12:00
Match 2: #2E Texas-Dallas (22-6) vs. #3W Sul Ross State (14-17), 2:30
Friday, November 3 (Semifinals)
Match 3: #1E East Texas Baptist (19-11) vs. Winner Match 1, 5:00
Match 4: #1W Texas Lutheran (18-10) vs. Winner Match 2, 7:30
Saturday, November 4 (Finals)
Match 5 (Championship): Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4, 5:00

NOTES: Admission prices will be $5 for adults and $3 for students. . . . All TLU matches will be broadcasted on its athletics website.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.