ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

MC, TLU Advance in ASC Women’s Soccer Championships
November 3, 2006

Courtesy Hardin-Simmons University Sports Information Department

Texas Lutheran 4, East Texas Baptist 0
Texas Lutheran scored three second half goals to eliminate East Texas Baptist, 4-0, in the American Southwest Conference Championship Tournament, Friday afternoon at the Hardin-Simmons Soccer Complex.

Erin Peterson scored in the 28th minute for the Bulldogs, as TLU missed a couple of close range opportunities in the first half. TLU made up for it in the second half when Ashley Smith, Kelli Layden and Dani Matthews all found the net.

Katie Kistner was solid in goal for the Bulldogs, saving all three shots on goal.

ETBU finishes its season with a 11-7-2 record. Texas Lutheran improved to 14-5-0 and will play UT-Dallas at 2 p.m. in the semifinals on Saturday.

Mississippi College 4, LeTourneau 0
Mississippi College advanced to the semifinals of the American Southwest Conference Championship Tournament with a 4-0 win over LeTourneau in quarterfinal action Friday at the HSU Soccer Complex in Abilene.

It did not take the Choctaws long to get on the scoreboard as Jennifer Benson found Tina Deshotels for a goal 6:48 into the game. Benson found Christa Sutter less than two minutes later for another goal and MC led 2-0.

The game remained that way until Laura Leigh Ellis buried a free kick from the far left wing to put the game out of reach at 3-0 at the 60:32 mark. Kellie Kirby made it 4-0 when she scored off a Sutter rebound that had hit the post.

Mississippi College outshot LeTourneau 15-13. Mallory Pope had five saves for MC and Anna Wolfgang recorded five saves for LeTournaeu.

MC will face top-seed and nationally-ranked Hardin-Simmons at 11 a.m. Saturday. LeTourneau ended its season with a record of 10-8-2.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.