ASC logoPress Release
HomeThe American Southwest ConferenceChampionshipsMembershipSponsored SportsPress Release Archives and Media Outlets
SpacerStudent Athlete Advisory CouncilConference SponsorsRelated WWW SitesE-mail UsSite DescriptionSpacer

Texas-Tyler Claims East Division Baseball Crown, Becomes Only Undefeated Team Left at Any NCAA Division Level
April 15, 2007

Courtesy University of Texas at Tyler Sports Information Department

TYLER, Texas – The University of Texas at Tyler took a three-run lead in the first inning and never looked back on Sunday in a 9-2 win over LeTourneau University that gave the Patriots their second American Southwest Conference East Division baseball championship in three seasons. Also, with a loss by top-ranked Wooster (Ohio), Texas-Tyler (34-0, 15-0 ASC) became the only undefeated team left at any NCAA Division level.

Story continues below photo

Texas-Tyler Baseball

Texas-Tyler players begin to celebrate the ASC East Division crown.

After Nate Jennings delivered the final pitch, catcher Zach James tackled him in the infield as head coach James Vilade’s Patriots flooded Irwin Field in celebration in front of a standing ovation from their fans.

Texas-Tyler started off with a three-run first inning, as Andrew Damewood hit his second hom run in two days. Damewood’s three run shot over the right field wall scored Kendall Fox and Brett Amyx, who had both reached on walks. The Patriots would never trail.

Patriots’ all-time leading hitter Clay Copeland came up huge in the clincher, going 4-for-4 with two runs scored and an RBI. Damewood was also perfect in four at-bats, with a run and four RBI. Fox reached three times and scored every time.

On the mound, starter Brett Holland pitched six strong innings, striking out eight batters. Holland did not surrender a hit until the fifth inning.

Texas-Tyler has four games remaining this season. Due to being an NCAA Division III provisional member, it is ineligible for the ASC Championship Tournament, NCAA tournament and national rankings.

Site created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.